A Tour de Force of the Complexities of Relationships

My 5-Star review of Max Everhart’s, ALL THE DIFFERENT WAYS LOVE CAN FEEL.
By Michael Helms
ALL THE DIFFERENT WAYS LOVE CAN FEEL is a smorgasbord of emotion. Love, hate, anger, indifference, angst, happiness, joy, disappointment–all these and many more bleed their way throughout these eleven stories. I found Max Everhart’s writing contagious; a first sentence, or paragraph–never more than a page–and I was drawn into every tale.

All_the_Different_Wa_Cover_for_KindleMost, if not all, of this collection is autobiographical to some extent. How do I know? I FEEL it! Father and son relationship is a common theme in several stories. The care for and bonding of an older brother with his younger brother; or a brother’s closeness and deep love for a troubled sister, are other paths threading through the pages of Everhart’s seminal work. A few times this former “badass” Marine found himself on the verge of tears.

The characters are wonderfully flawed and fleshed-out. The dialogue is sparse and real. The stories are raw with feeling, raw and intense and gutsy.
I became a big Max Everhart fan when I found and devoured his excellent mystery series featuring private eye Eli Sharpe: GO GO GATO; SPLIT TO SPLINTERS (a SHAMUS Award finalist); and ED, NOT EDDIE; and then his rough and tumble crime/noir novel, ALPHABET LAND. ALL THE DIFFERENT WAYS . . . opens up a whole new facet of Everhart’s talent as a writer to be reckoned with.
I miss Eli Sharpe and hope to see him in future mysteries. But as long as Max Everhart keeps baring his soul through his words, I’ll be waiting in anticipation for his next book.

Note: I received a copy of this book from the author for my fair and unbiased review.Max Everhart photo

Max Everhart
10 thoughts on “A Tour de Force of the Complexities of Relationships

  1. I am still reading it after all the problems with my computer that have nothing to do with Max only my desire to read this. It is already obvious that this work is something very special. Max has shredded the top of life to the bone. This is a book about loving through the ugliness of life that we all have to deal with. The ugly bones of life have a life that transcends living in a way that is agonizing yet real and that lets us all know that we feel these things. I have to finish the book and i will not hurry because Max has tapped into the realm we all live in. Life consists of so many things and we all are part of the agony and ecstasy of being alive. I have not gotten that far yet but i will.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I just read the story about the green-eyed mom. It sneaked up on me. The boy’s reaction to her and his father – it sent me back to a time when i did basically the same thing he did. Suddenly I was sobbing on the bedspread. I had a good long sobathon. It was unexpected. It pierced my defenses like an arrow. I think I needed to cry. I’m ok. I can’t say more or it would be a spoiler.
    –MJ

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Max has a knack for that. (That’s almost poetic!) So glad the story touched you, MJ. I almost came to tears myself upon reading a couple of these stories. Big bad Marines mustn’t cry. Well, okay, I guess that’s not true. The stories in this collection tug the mind, soul, and heart in different ways. That’s why I’m so impressed with the book. 🙂
    –Michael

    Like

  4. Yes. I’m impressed with it too and have been reading it for a long time today. The tears were a strange experience as I felt one drop out of the corner of one eye and thought oh my eyes are watering and then wham the dam broke. Big bad Marines would probably be better off if they did
    cry. That is also a thread in the book. The way males handle emotional pain. It often comes out as anger. But I can identify with that too. I have a painting of a ship with the sails filled with the wind and it is one of my favorite things. I got angry and smashed the glass that covered it. I destroyed something I loved. (luckily I stick to objects). I know men are taught to turn off emotion and move into an area where they can function coldly despite what is happening. Boys don’t have that down until someone pounds it into them and then often they never cry again. Many themes in this book. 🙂
    –MJ

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

