So Long

My brother’s first father-in-law was a writer and he had a syndicated newspaper column and radio show. He taught me to sign off each story with -30-, and never to say goodbye. “So long sounds like you’ll be back, and you always want to be back. Goodbye, sounds like the end.”

-30-

The -30- thing always confused me. I mean, couldn’t the editors and typesetters figure out that the story ended. No more papers, no more story. What was with that -30- thing. I was too young to know about the journalistic conventions of telegraphs and teletypes and calling in stories.  My world was typewriters and pads of yellow legal papers. I can only imagine how archaic this sounds to children of the computer generation. Someday cursive notes will be the secret code of people of a certain age. Which is an improvement over writing with mayonnaise. Believe me, I know.

The “so long” think made more sense. It did sound more open than goodbye, so I adopted it as my own. Truth be told, I adopted the -30- thing too until I got a call from the editor of a magazine that frequently published my stories. She asked me to stop using it as she had to take it out of the last three final magazine proofs. The person who set the stories and did the flatpan didn’t recognize the symbol and thought it was part of the story.

clock-faceThis is my first blog of 2017 for MMO. It’s time to say so long to the old year and howdy to the new. It’s been a fantastic year for the blog. We went from 0 readers in March to 2,400 as I write this on November 25th. We’ve been lucky enough to play host to some fantastic guests, and have developed a presence as a must-read blog filled with diverse content.

We’ve had some sad moments too. One of our founders, Max Everhart, asked to be removed from the regular blog rotation. Max is the father of a toddler, a Shamus award finalist, and an English professor. His plate was full. We miss him, but we understand. We’re eagerly waiting for a guest post, and hoping it’s an announcement of his newest book.  Hurry up and write the thing, Max.

What’s coming up for 2017? Ah, the future is always a mystery and there’s plenty of motive to give us the means to have a lot of fun. We’re looking for a regular contributor or two or three to blog with Mike and me. We’re also hoping for lots more guests. If you’re interested, e-mail me at kait.carson@gmail.com.

Join me in lifting a glass to the future!

champagneSo long, for now.

Author photos 009Kait Carson lives in an airpark in south central Florida with a pilot husband, eight tropical birds, and six rescue cats. By day, she’s a practicing probate and litigation paralegal, in the evening, legal pads give way to a keyboard, and she spins tales of murder and mayhem set in the tropical heat. Kait writes two series, the Catherine Swope series, set in Miami, and the Hayden Kent series set in the Fabulous Florida Keys.

Kait loves to hear from readers, check out her website at www.kaitcarson.com; follow her on Facebook at www.facebook.com/kaitcarsonauthor, on Twitter at @kaitcarson, or e-mail her at kait.carson@gmail.com.

 

14 thoughts on “So Long

  1. Whew, from your heading I thought for a minute you were bailing on me, Kait! Good to see you’re hanging around (couldn’t do this without you!). I also used the -30- thing back in the days of paper and typewriters and carbon paper (how many young’uns know what that is?). Word processing certainly simplifies things. Remember sending out boxed manuscript after manuscript? And the money for postage? YIKES! Us “oldsters” sure had it rough. Nice post! 🙂

    Like

  2. Wonderful post Kait, really enjoyable read. Instead of good bye I’ll say hello since it is now 2017
    officially. Here is to MMO and all the great topics and writers work I have been enjoying. Forward march for everyone. I am hoping for a great new year for the blog and all who contribute.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi all, can you believe that I forgot I was blogging today! My apologies for late response.

    First HAPPY 2017 to all. I’m getting good tingles when I think about the coming year. I love bright and shiny beginnings, and frankly, 2016—less said the better. It went out on a death star.

    I just noticed that most of our commenters names begin with M. Not sure how, but I figure I’ll use that in the future! Thank you all for taking the time to comment.

    Micki – I know 2017 will be a stellar year for you. Can’t wait for the release of Adrift! (January 10th all – don’t miss it)

    Like

  4. Yep, ADRIFT is launching in a week–YAY for Micki! And then, on the 15th, look for the release of Mac McClellan Mystery #4, DEADLY SPIRITS–whoopee for me! Seriously folks, if any of you have upcoming books, stories, or other announcements, send them our way. MMO is here for our readers and guest bloggers. And to second Kate’s comment about someone(s) joining MMO full-time, please consider it if you have that little itch to scratch. We’d love to have you aboard! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

