Cyber Monday Here We Come

If I can’t buy it online, I don’t want it. That’s my motto. I’m sticking to it.  Today is Cyber Monday. What, we needed a special day to surf the web? The reason for that would be…  Does Cyber Monday exist for all those folks who didn’t make it to the store in time to buy the Black Friday specials?welcome-to-cyber-monday

News flash! I was in a store the Monday before Thanksgiving. Boxes containing well-priced computer equipment (yes, it was that kind of store) were stacked in nearly every open space. The stacks were priced, but not displayed. So, me being me; I asked. Here’s the answer, “That’s our Black Friday merchandise, but you can buy it now.” That led to a second question, “Will the prices be the same on Friday?” Response, “Yeah, but we’ll have one on display.”  So, the Monday before Thanksgiving is the training day for the Friday after Thanksgiving. I get it. That solves the eternal Black Friday mystery of why stores run out of Black Friday advertised merchandise. Makes you wonder why folks are in a track stance outside retail shops at four in the morning, doesn’t it? Four in the morning, who am I kidding? Black Friday starts right after the Thanksgiving Day football games.

cyber-treeAs a writer, I’m fascinated by the Cyber Monday philosophy. A lot of stores I’ve recently been to don’t stock a large selection of merchandise anymore. Instead, they offer a few select items, and an order online, pick up in-store feature. Many will even ship to your house for free. Retail no longer requires real estate. Just a computer and a credit card. This gives me a visual of a giant funnel fed by relays of workers pouring boxes and bags into the maw to the consumer. But things are finite. What happens when the Internet runs out of stuff? Will Cyber Monday shoppers be forced to log on ever earlier? Will sites crash under the onslaught? Will the world end? Oh, sorry, wrong blog.

There is one other thing I’ve noticed about Cyber Monday. Retailers play it close to the cyber-mondaychest when it comes to Cyber Monday deals while the Black Friday ads have been running for a week. Shoppers are left to wonder, should I buy now? Wait? Buy for 2016 on Black Friday and 2017 on Cyber Monday? How much stuff do I need?

People have died on Black Friday. Some trampled in the crush. Others murdered for the merchandise. Getting the last one of a hot item can be deadly. Heck, a parking space caused a shootout in a Tallahassee parking lot in 2012. There’s even a death counter keeping track of the Black Friday casualty rate.  I think I feel a holiday short story coming on. No wonder grandma got run over by that reindeer.

Taken from the death and injured toll, Cyber Monday makes perfect sense. Shop online, the life you save may be your own!

How about you? Are you an online shopping fan or do you prefer the up close and personal encounter of brick and mortar shopping?

There’s a party going on at my Facebook author page. Henery Authors are running a giveaway train to celebrate Cyber Monday. Stop by, comment, and move on to the next stop. There are TONS of prizes available. Don’t miss it.

Author photos 009Kait Carson lives in an airpark in south central Florida with a pilot husband, eight tropical birds, and six rescue cats. By day, she’s a practicing probate and litigation paralegal, in the evening, legal pads give way to a keyboard, and she spins tales of murder and mayhem set in the tropical heat. Kait writes two series, the Catherine Swope series, set in Miami, and the Hayden Kent series set in the Fabulous Florida Keys.

Kait loves to hear from readers, check out her website at www.kaitcarson.com; follow her on Facebook at www.facebook.com/kaitcarsonauthor, on Twitter at @kaitcarson, or e-mail her at kait.carson@gmail.com.

 

9 thoughts on “Cyber Monday Here We Come

  1. When I was in college, my mother and I used to make a day of it shopping Black Friday. We got to the mall early (back then 8am was early) and had a full day of bonding. I got all my holiday shopping done before I went back to campus on Sunday. So it kind of had a purpose beyond commercial consumerism gone mad.

    These days? Gimme Cyber Monday.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah, spending money (or plastic, in most cases), one of my least-favorite pastimes. Except for stuff I like and want. Hey, I’m comfortable (nowhere near rich); I’ve had my years of struggling to make ends meet. Therefore, If I want to buy used books at Amazon for a penny plus their outrageous $3.99 shipping charge, I’ll do it. At four bucks a pop, you can often find pristine, unread copies. I also have a terrible case of GAS which requires the occasional outlay of my horde of money. No, not THAT kind of gas; I’m talking Guitar Acquisition Syndrome. I’ve been playing guitar (self-taught) since I was fifteen (blame it on the Beatles and the rest of the English Invasion of the early-mid ’60s). You can do the math.Okay, so I have around twenty or so guitars lying around the house at any given time. I occasionally sell one. I occasionally buy one (or three). Keeps the wife happy (well, not exactly happy, per se). But I digress.
    Oh yeah–Black Friday & Cyber Monday. Hmm, no way in the depths of blackest, fiery Hades would I venture out on T-day + 1. Uh-uh, not happening. With age I’ve become a recluse. I don’t like going places, especially places with crowds. No Grim Reaper shopping for this dude.
    So, if I want to feed the economy I’ll likely do it online. So I choose Cyber Monday, except I’ve already bought a teetering stack of books the past month plus increased my guitar family by two (couldn’t be helped; they were sooo darlin’ and wanted ME!)
    Thanks, Kait–enjoyed the post! 🙂
    –Mike

    Like

  3. I usually buy online. I hate shopping for anything. I didn’t even know what Black Friday was until this Friday. I needed some computer stuff I wanted right away so I drove to the nearest computer store and found to my horror that there were six or seven people stuffed into little white cars like my Camry and the mall was mobbed. I found a space and wandered around with a big crowd, grabbed my items and saw a huge line. No one seemed to realize that the line in front was going a lot faster so I headed there and saw numerous surly clerks and people clutching various items. The line went fast and I sneaked under the velvet rope that was supposed to hold people back. The person in front of me had a huge, long cart and no one knew it was only one person and they hesitated. Sometimes that is bad and sometimes good. I paid and left and it was hard to back out of the space since no one wanted me to get away. Finally, after inching my car back slowly I escaped. I went out the back way and there were drooling people hanging out of the car windows like on OU Night for football. It was dicey but I made it. Later my husband came in with a HUGE tv from the same store. He had won the football pot and it was a big one. He LIKES crowds. We spent the whole next day assembling these items and it was not fun. I have always hated crowds. Kait has the right idea and she has cracked the system. (I lied, they weren’t drooling but their eyes were)

    My computer was serviced remotely and my info has been deleted from here. @MJPayneAuthor

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Ah, MJ, with the power vested in my by WordPress, I have reinstated you! So cool. What a terrifying experience. I am so bad in crowds. I take a tall man (don’t tell my husband) hook a finger through his belt loop and let him take the lead. It is beyond me why anyone thinks shopping in a crowd is fun. OK, so your husband likes it, mine too. Go figure. Could it be that broken x chromosome? Thanks for posting, MJ

      Liked by 1 person

  4. OMG, you do need to meet up with hubby. Former Marine (I know, no such thing) who last year scored a vintage Earl Scruggs banjo. Never played. The music shop bought it and kept it in a display case. Now he wants a flying dove guitar. We all agree with feeding the online economy. You take care!

    Like

  5. Thanks Kait. Really. I only get to drive in cases of extreme flu. Men,Marines or not want to buy what they want and find ways to do it or avoid it. Still, the darlins can always seem to back out without being intimidated. Here is to guys. Thanks for adding me back.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

