What, Wait, No, It can’t be that late@

Writing is a writer’s life but guess what. We have family, commitments, day jobs (OMG day jobs) and then…there’s the writing, the editing, the support for other writers, the marketing, the social media, and the round robin of events that make all writers want to scream…STOP!Never find time

I’ve got a day job. It’s demanding and high pressure, and as filled with deadlines as my writing life. More than that—it pays the bills. A typical day for me starts at 5 AM and goes until 4 or 5 PM. During that time, I have to be sharp, on my game, and ready to tackle anything. This weekend I worked eight hours on Saturday and nine on Sunday. What, really, you might ask, do you do? Rocket science, brain surgery? Nope. I’m a paralegal with a trust, estates, tax, probate, and litigation practice. Not a lawyer, a paralegal. An underling.

My boss is one of the greatest people on earth. He does not ask me to work these insane hours. Why then, do I do it? Well, he does it, he’s right there in the office working too. And he would never impose on my time, so I know—when deadlines loom (and all of my practices are deadline driven) that it’s my job to do my job. He will and has picked up the slack when I have other commitments. Find me another boss who will do that without complaint or repercussions. When you work for someone like that, you give 110%. It’s only fair.

Did I say my boss is one of the greatest people on earth? He is. He vets my novels for legal mistakes, offers up story ideas, throws me out of the office to handle marketing, understands and gives me leave time to make deadlines. In short. He supports not only my work life, but my writing life. And with every book that comes out, he buys a box and gives them for gifts. Way cool, huh.

But all of this begs the question. When the heck do I write? I have a demanding husband, six cats, and four birds who all have individual requirements. So much for that spare time thing. But here’s the catch. Writing is my job. It’s my second job. I have a contract with Henery Press, I write short stories, I write blog posts and each has an individual deadline. Writing is not a hobby for me. It’s work. It’s how I intend to pay the bills, at least that’s my hope (and my dream—you listening Karma?).Lau Tzu on time

What that means for me is after the day job is done, the cats, husband, and birds fed, the litter boxes cleaned, I am at my desk, plucking away on my laptop for four hours. Yep, four hours. I try to get my social media stuff and blog responses done during breaks in the day, but the meat and potatoes of writing. That requires a chunk of time. So, here I am surfing my keyboard putting words on the page.

Right now I’ve got one novel half way done, this blog post nearly done, a new novel in the percolating stages and a short story for True Story magazine in outline stage. I’m getting ready for a personal appearance the Saturday after this in Sarasota, Florida (anyone going to be near the Barnes & Noble on June 18th? Come and visit, I’m doing a reading at 10, signing books most of the morning and participating in a panel discussion in the afternoon – love to meet you).Time Steven Covey

Bottom line…if you love it, you will do it. Time is ours to use as we see fit, and to some extent, it’s elastic enough to let you follow your passion!

Kait loves to hear from fans, check out her website at www.kaitcarson.com; follow her on Facebook at www.facebook.com/kaitcarsonauthor, on twitter at @kaitcarson, or e-mail her at kait.carson@gmail.com.

 

 

7 thoughts on “What, Wait, No, It can’t be that late@

  1. VERY good post, Kait! I say that because I am a procrastinator and huge waster of time. I’m beyond having to work a day job, yet still can’t seem to find enough time to do what I need to do–write! I, too, have a half-finished novel. I got stuck on it about five months ago when my latest mystery was close to launching. All that PROMOTIONAL & MARKETING stuff we all, as authors in this day and age, must do if our “babies” are to receive the attention they (in OUR opinion) deserve.

    How, or when, do we let our newest “baby” go, and turn our attention to the one still gestating inside us? (Man, that sounds weird, especially coming from a guy!) My mental deficiencies prey upon my time (PTSD is a bad thing), and cause me to squander precious hours-days-weeks when I should be working at what I love–namely, writing.

    I’ll re-read this post many times, and thank you on each and every occasion I do (mentally). So, thank you for a great wake-up call!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks Mike–a blog born of stress! I almost titled it, I am writer, I am tired! Still, it is true. We manage to do the things that mean the most to us, and still, all the crying babies manage to get fed.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kait, I admire your persistence and discipline, both of which are, to me, far more important than talent when it comes to writing. I get a bit peeved when dilettantes who claim to want to write say, “I can’t treat it like a job. I have to wait for the Muse to speak to me.” That’s BS. Like Jack London said (paraphrasing now): you can’t wait for inspiration; you need to track it down with a knife.”

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks for the “booster shot” to my wake-up call, Max. I’m not complaining or making excuses. I don’t have a problem with writer’s block, or waiting for the “muse” to strike. I suppose my big problem is lack of focus. I’m not worth a damn at multi-tasking. I’m a constant worrier. I also have OCD, which as you know, is no fun. The PTSD doesn’t help, either. Boo hoo for me. Aren’t we writers a jolly bunch?

      I have to come to a decision to stop (or severely cut back) marketing/promoting and get back to writing. I’m happier and more content when I’m being creative. Damn these days of the author having to “do it all” for their books! How do you (any writers who might read this) handle or balance this? Inquiring minds want to know. Really.
      Okay, end of rant and back to writing. Or butting my head against a wall.

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Easy, Mike. I don’t promote my work at all. Much happier for it. Focused, instead, on writing new books, which, hopefully, might lead readers back to my old work. I wrote a long piece on this very subject for Friday’s post; it’s already in the queue.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Max, as a reader and a fellow writer, I admire your work and value your opinion. We might not always agree, but the respect is there. As for the promoting thing, I’m leaning heavily to your approach. Write new and better stuff and hope my reader base grows. “Build it and they will come.” Thanks for the pick-me-up. Much needed and appreciated. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

